More than teammates: Siblings strengthen their bond through sports

Molly Holtrop ’13
Staff

Why do we play sports? Is there a certain drive inside of us all that makes winning the only option? Or do we just play for the love of the game? Everyone has their rationale for why they step out onto the field or court. For CSHS students Sayge Wight ’14 and Luke Dault ’15, their sport hits close to home. Not only are they playing for their team and themselves, but ultimately, for the ones they look up to the most: their siblings.
“Hannah [Wight ‘13] has a big influence on me when it comes to basketball. She started playing before me, and because of her, I wanted to try it too,” says Sayge.

SISTERLY LOVE: Sisters Sayge Wight ’14 and Hannah Wight ’13 debate on a picture pose. The Wight’s compete side by side on the varsity basketball team. Basketball is just one of the many things they share in each other’s lives. Photo by Sirena Johnson ‘13

SISTERLY LOVE: Sisters Sayge Wight ’14 and Hannah Wight ’13 debate on a picture pose. The Wight’s compete side by side on the varsity basketball team. Basketball is just one of the many things they share in each other’s lives. Photo by Sirena Johnson ‘13

The Wight sisters are a mere one year apart and are undoubtedly each other’s best friend. Many of the things they experience, they experience together, and that’s how they like it.
“Basketball is much more enjoyable because of Hannah. She’s a good player to look up to and learn from,” states Sayge.
Like the Wight sisters, the Dault brothers also share the bond over a sport. Soccer has always been an important aspect in their lives.
“Aaron [Dault ‘13] was the one who got me into soccer in the first place. He’s a great leader and player. I look up to him because of that,” says Luke.
Both Sayge and Luke agree that while playing with their older siblings, they have learned many new concepts.
“She’s always there to tell me what I need to work on and what I do right. Hannah can criticize me differently than anyone because she’s my sister,” states Sayge.
Over the years, these sisters and brothers have had their ups and downs, but it is clear that they are thankful to have them in their lives.
“I don’t think that I’d be as good at soccer if I didn’t have Aaron. Things would definitely be different without him,” says Luke.
Sayge also sees the positive affects her sister Hannah has on her.
“She has so much passion for the game that it rubs off on me. I want to do good and win because of her,” states Sayge.
Their seasons might come to an end, but they’ll always have each other for life, no matter how far.
“I’m sad she’s going to college. It’s going to suck not having her there to go to practice or games with. I’m going to miss her,” says Sayge.
Although seeing your best friend, sibling, and teammate leave for college is a tough transition, Luke thinks on the positive side.
“I’m excited to see what he’ll do in college. I know Aaron has a good future ahead of him,” states Luke.
Role models are different for everybody. Whether it’s a NBA all-star, or a hometown hero, dreams are built on being just like them one day. However, for some, the person they most look up to is a sibling.
Luke says, “Someday I hope to be just like [Aaron].”

Leave a comment